Chasing dreams…

Everyone has hopes and dreams. If you don’t, you’re dead.

All my life, I’ve had hopes and dreams to keep me going. At 18, I said I hoped to go skydiving before I turn 30, I did it 8 months before I turned 30. I dreamed of seeing the Aurora Borealis in my lifetime, I saw it earlier this year in Tromsø with my partner and now what?

There’re a few new places and stuff to do in my bucket list now, but none has gripped me as much as the Aurora and I struggled a little to get a move on after that. Perhaps the time has come now to try chasing the other dream.

What did you dream about when you were young? Did you want to be a lawyer? A F-16 pilot? Or did you hope to travel the world? I wanted to be all these when I was a wee child. I’m 32 year old this year. What have I achieve? Obviously I can’t be flying a F-16, I’ve traveled a little more than most people (but definitely NOT enough), but can I still pursue the other dream?

Some might think I’m impractical, whimsical and irresponsible. So be it, I’m my own biggest detractor. But time and again, I’ve proved myself wrong. I can get things done when I set my heart on it. And yes, my heart is made of light feathery stuff that floats on hopes and dreams.

The older you get, the more fearful you become of failure and the insecurities of starting afresh. Can you pick yourself up again when you fail and fail miserably? Can you do without the comfort of a steady income?

I honestly don’t know what is it I want out of life, but I’ve taken a first step of quitting my mundane job so I can now concentrate on searching. Yes I’ve saved for a rainy day, but I also have a sibling that I am going to put through university come September. So what am I gonna do?

I promise I’ll find a little more of myself in the next few months. What is it that you REALLY want to do? I got a feeling the answer is already there somewhere. I just have to come to terms with it.

Some lucky people get to live their dream, whilst others have to contend with dreaming about them. I wanna live my childhood dream, no matter how hard & ridiculous it is, I rather fail trying, than not try at all.

Leave a Reply

